Electric battery Earn £175 per month from your EV!
BMW i3 wrapped in adverts

DIY Twizy speaker cheap and easy bass response upgrade

Further to my speaker upgrade I still wasn’t happy with the bass response so had another looks to see what could be done.

I’m no expert when it comes to sound systems but felt the Twizy setup didn’t seem great. HiFi speakers are usually in solid boxes and car speakers sealed to a door panel, for example. In the Twizy the speakers are mounted on an open metal frame with a loose fitting cover around them!

My plan was to fit some kind of seal between the outer edge of the speaker and the plastic cover to effectively turn the plastic speaker cover into a sealed box. After much searching on the internet, I found some speaker seals but none of the correct size so ordered some adhesive foam strip instead.

After a bit of trial and error I found the gap between the speaker and the plastic cover to be just less than 15mm. The foam I’d ordered was 30mm wide so I was able to cut it in half. The diameter required, so as to not touch the cone, was 90mm and I found a Castrol grease pot in the garage to be the perfect size to use to form the required shape.

Two wraps of adhesive foam were used and a cable tie to make sure it stays in shape.

Two rings were made then positioned in either side of the speaker cover, which was then refitted, sandwiching the foam between the speaker and the cover and the speakers tested.

To be sure the position and thickness was correct, after a short while, I removed the cover again to inspect for impressions in the foam. You can just make out the speaker screw imprints in this photo.

At this point another rattle was found, which was cured with an extra bit of foam between the roof and speaker cross member, in addition to the pink adhesive felt I’d already fitted elsewhere.

Following this the cover was refitted for a second time and the job complete.