Electric battery Earn £175 per month from your EV!
BMW i3 wrapped in adverts

Helleo from Kent

I saw ads on the Twizy and started making inquiries with the Maidstone Renault dealer (DUH), started telling me all manner of Buffelsheiser, and stopped short when I asked him about insurance.

So I decided to do my homework as you should and have become intrigued, I want one BUT 2nd hand end of its battery contract will pay up to 2k (Well that will raise hackles no doubt but look what the trade says?)

Anyway, on big gripe is the ongoing cost of batteries - £2700 outrageous.

I am a retired professional engineer. Ive has a lot of experience with owning Ebikes and mobility scooters, so I may have some new thoughts on the problem. Ebikers (and to a much lesser extent mobscoots) have much community knowledge on tweaking their kit and avoiding extortionate dealer charges.

A quick look on Ebay and you can get 18685s Lions 5Ah 3.7V for ca £1 thats 18.5 Wh, so 300 of these are needed to give the nominal 6.1kWh for a Twizy £300

But its not that simple of course, you have to deal with charging correctly and safely - but its all out there. Ebikers do this all the time

But I stress this is not for amateurs, Lions are dangerous, firehazard and explosive - look at the Dreamliner. Remember how some mobile phone exploded causing injury cos they had been fitted with cheap chinese kit without the all important charge regulator chip.

This was a quick take on my part and needs much more research, but it shows how much you are being ripped off

I am about to replace my Ebike battery pack with a home made one (£400 from maker now £40 to my design). So I will prove the concept.

But its all there on Google

If any skilled member (in electrics) wishes to collaborate on the development of such fixes pls pm me

Hope I can help

OBTW pls advise if this board is in any way compromised by Dealers who obviously wouldnt appreciate my input, I may have to go underground

Robin

Robin,