Rear Calliper alternative suppliers?

Hi guys,

Anyone know where to buy a rear calliper apart from Renault ? Their £201 asking price for one calliper is extortionate to say the least and I need one as the handbrake is not holding on one of my rear wheels.

Thanks in advance

Paul

Check that it has been adjusted by screwing out the piston

Thanks for the reply, I’m not really technically minded, where would he piston be to screw it out please?
The problem I’m having also is that the handbrake lever becomes very loose and slack when released and moves up and down easily whilst driving giving me the handbrake warning light on with sound. Having to hold it down to stop.
The guy I took it to I know pushed something in near the calliper which took some effort and then made the handbrake lever tighter and travelled less up once applied and when released no slack. However once applied can still move the Twizy unless on the last click.
After a few attempts doing this, it has now become very slack again.

1 Like

Where are based? @Lightly fixed mine which had a simular issue with the handbrake not working. However I now have another Twizy handbrake issue where it doesn’t always come off on one side. I manually have to push the caliper lever back (one finger). This isn’t related to the handbrake not working it is just one of those things that should be oiled and doesn’t get oiled despite it being open to the rain. Easy enough for the none technical to fix with some WD40 and oil.

To screw out the piston takes a bit more work and not something I can explain in text.

For a temporary fix. Lift out the floor panel to expose the handbrake cable and tighten the cable up there. Check that both wheels still spin freely. This will take the slack out the cable but not help with the hold.

I’m based in north London. Too be honest my mate which knows about this stuff says I need a new calliper. I just need to source a decent price one. Otherwise I’ll go to Renault.

Cheers