Renault Parrot vs Parrot MKi9100

Been looking at the official Renault Bluetooth Kit but baulked at the price!
I have seen the excellent Parrot Installation guide by Lightly and see that it is a Parrot MKi9100 that Renault uses.
Looking on the 'Net you can buy a Parrot MKi9100 for just over £100
Am I correct in thinking the only difference is the Renault Plastic housing to mount the display, and the speakers and mounting brackets?
I am a design engineer and have a lot of access to sheet metal machinery, so knocking some speaker brackets up would be dead easy. :slight_smile:
I was wondering if anyone who has the official kit fitted can tell me what do you need to see from the display?
I was thinking about mounting the display in the glove box???
Does anyone know what size and wattage the Renault speakers are fitted?

Andy

I was thinking on same lines; the hardware looks the same and the metal speaker brackets might be easy enough to fabricate, but the Twizy is open and the plastic screen mount is good as it hides the unit away up top from all but the most persistent of crims, maybe the 9200 would work mounted above the windscreen in the same spot?

Bear in mind the glovebox lids do not stay lifted open and you are supposed to go in that way to change light bulbs.

Would be interested to see if someone fits a non-Renault Parrot kit. Hmmm.

Well I’ve gone and done it…
Bought a Parrot MKi9100, cost £129
Not sure where I am going to fit the display yet because I don’t have the Official Renault plastic housing that fits in the top left corner.
I will be fitting it next weekend all being well, need to source some speakers first.
I have removed the plastic speaker surround in the Twizy and I guess the speakers are 100mm (4")
Any audio expert know what power speakers I should order???
I am a complete dunce when it comes to car audio :smiley:

Andy

1 Like

Post some pics when done!