Electric battery Earn £175 per month from your EV!
BMW i3 wrapped in adverts

Zoe test drive mini review

I drove my Twizy to the Renault dealer for some repairs and wanted another Twizy as replacement car.
As the dealer also rent cars, I can use their ‘for rent’ Twizy as a replacement. No big deal.

But today, it seems the ‘for rent’ Twizy was sold. So I got another replacement car for about 1 day: a Renault Zoe.
Usually, at least for conventional cars, you’d get a cheap car; but since I drive electric in the Twizy, the next best electric car they could offer is the Zoe.

I got some basic instructions, like the start/stop button and how the key card worked, as well as where the charger was, and I drove off home.
Apparently, they got an adapter in the car to convert the Type 2(?) connector to a household plug, so I could charge at home. Great!

Sidenote: I am no electrician, but since the household plugs are different in the UK versus the rest of Europe, maybe household plugs are a bit different, so I don’t need a Wallbox in Belgium?

First impressions coming from the Twizy, it was weird to drive. I never drove automatic transmissions other than the Twizy, which drives a little different than other automatic transmission cars.
So I was a bit shocked when I found out when you put the car in Drive, it goes forward about kilometers per hour.
This is the same in any other manual transmission car I drove, putting it to first, but pushing the D-button in the Twizy doesn’t cause it to move.

I wanted to test-drive the Zoe some time in the future anyway, so making an ‘extended’ test drive in the form of a 1-day replacement car would be even better.

After a few seconds of readjusting myself to the car, I went off home to my grandparents.
Can’t not show the car and impress them, right?

We made a quick test drive at a road which could be called a B road in the UK to test the acceleration and speed of the Zoe. Both my grandma and me were impressed.